Test championship, ODI league & four-day Tests approved by ICC


England won their recent two home Test series against South Africa and West Indies

Plans for a Test championship and one-day international league have been approved by the International Cricket Council.

Nine teams will play six series of Test matches over a two-year period – three at home and three away – culminating in a world Test championship final.

A 13-team ODI league, introduced from 2021, will now be used to qualify for the World Cup.

The ICC has also given the go-ahead for a trial of four-day Test matches.

“Throughout the discussions about the future of Test cricket it became clear that we must also consider alternatives and trial initiatives that may support the future viability of Test cricket,” ICC chief executive David Richardson said.

How would the Test championship work?

The Test competition, which will begin after the World Cup in 2019, is designed to increase interest in the longer form of the game and avoid one-sided affairs.

There will be a minimum of two matches in each series – all of which will be scheduled to last five days – but can be expanded to five for series such as the Ashes.

The top two teams will compete in a play-off in April 2021, with a final to be held in England two months later.

Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and Ireland would initially be excluded from the Test championship but the introduction of four-day series would give them more Test experience.

A Test league has been mooted for years, with Richardson saying in 2016 that a league would help “create a real champion Test team”.

Day-night Tests have been introduced in an attempt to boost attendances.

And what about four-day Tests?

The trial for four-day Test matches will run up until the World Cup, which will be hosted by England.

South Africa recently requested to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe in December, before their three Test series against India in January.

“Four-day Tests will also provide the new Test-playing countries with more opportunities to play the longer version of the game,” Richardson continued.

“It will, in turn, will help them to hone their skills and close the gap with the top-nine ranked teams.”

How would the ODI league affect teams?

The top seven one-day sides currently automatically qualify for the World Cup, with a qualifying tournament held for the lower-ranked sides.

The new league would see the top-13 teams play eight series lasting three matches over three years.

View the original article: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/cricket/41605940

“Bringing context to bilateral cricket is not a new challenge, but this is the first time a genuine solution has been agreed on,” ICC chairman Shashank Manohar added.

If you are viewing this page on the BBC News app please click here to vote.

In the same category are

Celtic crushed by Bayern Munich Bayern Munich were in excellent form under Jupp Heynckes, who took over for a third time last weekCeltic endured a European night to forget as they w...
McKayla Maroney: Olympic gymnast ‘abused’ by Larry Nassar McKayla Maroney (left) with her gold medal-winning USA team-mates at the 2012 Olympic Games in LondonLondon 2012 Olympic gold medallist McKayla Maron...
FA racism allegations inquiry: Request ‘bordering on blackmail’ – Eniola Aluko Footballer Eniola Aluko tells the parliamentary inquiry over racism that FA chief executive Martin Glenn asked her to make a written statement that "t...
‘Being good defensively is not a crime’ – Man Utd beat Benfica Mile Svilar was close to tears at full-time and was consoled by fellow Belgian Romelu LukakuManchester United manager Jose Mourinho said "being good ...
Mourinho must look at himself, not Chelsea – Conte Antonio Conte won the Premier League in his first season in charge of ChelseaChelsea manager Antonio Conte says Manchester United boss Jose Mourinho ...
‘Serious doubts’ over whether FA bosses should continue as evidence is questioned Greg Clarke (left) and Martin Glenn (right) faced questions from MPs in parliament on WednesdayThere are "serious doubts" whether FA bosses are fit t...

Dont forget to “Like” us on Facebook

Need something to share, visit our sister site for the

‘News in the last 30 days”

in a clear concise package ….


If you are an artist or interested in art, visit our art website and read about todays artscene and browse some of our artist profiles


Comment on this story