US takes Chad off travel ban list

Latest news

    Chad was placed on the list because of an office supply glitch that prevented it from supplying homeland security officials with up to date samples of its passports [James Lawler/Reuters]

    US President Donald Trump has lifted travel restrictions on Chad, saying the Central African country had “improved its identity-management and information sharing practices”. 

    Trump signed a proclamation on Tuesday, removing Chad from the controversial travel ban list, according to White House Press Secretary Sarah Huckabee Sanders. 

    Chad nationals will “again be able to receive visas for travel to the United States”, Sanders said in a statement. 

    The US Department of Homeland Security said the removal of the travel restrictions will take effect on Friday.

    “The removal of the restrictions is the result of close cooperation conducted with Chad during a required 180-day review of the administration’s enhanced global security measures,” the department said in a statement on Tuesday.

    Chad was placed on the list last September because of an office supply glitch that prevented it from supplying homeland security officials with up to date samples of its passports, according to US officials.

    US officials also said Chad was unable to adequately share public safety and “terrorism-related” information with US officials who screen foreigners seeking to enter the country.

    Chad said at the time that the ban undermined its image and the good relations between Washington and Ndjamena.

    The ban prevented Chad nationals from obtaining business and tourist visas to the US.

    Last December, the US Supreme Court said the latest travel restrictions could take effect even as legal challenges against it make their way through the courts. 

    View the original article:

    The ban has been widely criticised for appearing to target Muslim-majority countries. It currently applies to Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen and North Korea. Restrictions have also been placed on certain indivduals from Venezuela. 

    In the same category are

    Bus-truck crash kills 15 in western Afghanistan At least 15 people were killed when a bus collided with a truck in western Afghanistan, officials said, in the second major traffic accident this mont...
    Alzheimer’s Day: The journey of caring for one with the disease At least 5.7 million Americans live with Alzheimer's, according to the Alzheimer's Association Sheila often thinks back to the day more than two de...
    Embattled UK leader defiant after Brexit plan attacked A rattled UK PM May insisted her plan was the only one on the table, and Britain was prepared to walk away without a deal An angry Prime Minister T...
    Philippines: At least 29 dead in Cebu landslide Many workers were using shovels to dig on the second day of the rescue operation The Philippines has suspended all mining operations in seven regio...
    Tanzania: Death toll increases in Lake Victoria ferry disaster The ferry MV Nyerere overturned on Lake Victoria on Thursday with an unknown number of people aboard The death toll from Tanzania's ferry disaster ...
    India cancels talks with Pakistan over ‘brutal killings’ India's ruling BJP party, which is gearing for elections next year, advocates a tough stance towards Pakistan Barely 24 hours after India agreed to...

    Leave a comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.