Australia v Ireland: Sexton’s return one of eight Ireland changes

Latest news

    Johnny Sexton came on as a second-half substitute in the first Test
    Second Test: Australia v Ireland
    Date: Saturday, 16 June Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne Kick-off: 11:00 BST
    Coverage: Text commentary and match report on BBC Sport website

    The return of Johnny Sexton at fly-half is one of eight personnel changes to the Ireland team for Saturday’s second Test against Australia in Melbourne.

    Munster wing Andrew Conway and Leinster centre Garry Ringrose come in for a game which Ireland must win to level the series, having lost 18-9 last week.

    Cian Healy, Niall Scannell and Tadhg Furlong form an entirely new front row.

    Devin Toner replaces Iain Henderson in the second row, with Dan Leavy in for Jordi Murphy in the back row.

    Injury concern Keith Earls has completed the return to play protocols and came through training on Thursday after being taken off during the first half of the first Test.

    Earls switches from the right to the left wing to facilitate the inclusion of Munster team-mate Conway.

    Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt will hope that the inclusion of Leavy in the number seven jersey will help his side compete more effectively with the Wallabies at the breakdown.

    Tadhg Beirne is in line to make his debut off the bench at Suncorp Stadium.

    Schmidt opted to rest a number of Leinster players for the opening game of the three-Test series in Brisbane on Saturday following the Irish province’s busy and successful start to the season.

    Joey Carbery occupied the number 10 shirt until Sexton’s introduction midway through the second half.

    Ireland’s defeat brought to an end their 12-game unbeaten run.

    Australia coach Michael Cheika has named an unchanged Australia line-up for the first time in his four-year tenure for the second Test.

    It is the only time Cheika has retained the same match-day squad for back-to-back Tests in his 46 games in charge, after taking the reins in November 2014.

    Australia: I Folau; D Haylett-Petty, S Kerevi, K Beale, M Koroibete; B Foley, W Genia; C Timu, M Hooper (capt), D Pocock; A Coleman, I Rodda; S Kepu, B Paenga-Amosa, S Sio.

    Replacements: T Latu, T Robertson, T Tupou, R Simmons, L Tui, P Samu, N Phipps, R Hodge.

    Ireland: R Kearney; A Conway, G Ringrose, R Henshaw, K Earls; J Sexton, C Murray; C Healy, N Scannell, T Furlong; D Toner, James Ryan; P O’Mahony, D Leavy, CJ Stander.

    Replacements: R Herring, J McGrath, A Porter, T Beirne, J Murphy, J Cooney, J Carbery, J Larmour.

    View the original article:

    In the same category are

    The Papers: Cipriani’s court date and family’s bridge escape By BBC News Staff Image copyright Metro Image caption The arrest - and subsequent charging - of England rugby star Danny Cipriani over an allege...
    New Zealand bans sales of homes to foreigners Image copyright Getty Images Image caption New Zealand is facing a housing affordability crisis New Zealand's parliament has banned many foreigner...
    Super Cup: Late goals give Atletico victory over Real Saul and Koke's fantastic strikes in extra-time gave Atletico Madrid victoryReal Madrid began life without Cristiano Ronaldo and Zinedine Zidane with...
    Garbine Muguruza: Spanish defending champion beaten by Lesia Tsurenko in Cincinnati Muguruza won her first Grand Slam with the French Open in 2016, adding the Wimbledon title in 2017Two-time Grand Slam winner Garbine Muguruza suffere...
    Face transplant: A ‘second chance’ for young suicide survivor Image copyright Family/Martin Schoeller Image caption The procedure was done in May 2017 by 11 surgeons at the Cleveland Clinic in Ohio Katie Stu...
    Former India captain Ajit Wadekar dies aged 71 Ajit Wadekar batting at The Oval in 1971Former India Test and One Day International captain Ajit Wadekar has died at the age of 77.The former batsman...

    Leave a comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.