Author Maryse Conde wins alternative Nobel Prize

Latest news

    Maryse CondeImage copyright Getty Images
    Image caption Maryse Conde dedicated her win to the people of Guadeloupe

    Maryse Conde, one of the Caribbean’s most renowned authors, has won an award created to replace this year’s Nobel Prize for Literature.

    The prestigious literature prize was suspended this year after a scandal at the Swedish Academy, which awards it.

    The Guadeloupian author, 81, said she was “very happy and proud” to win the alternative version.

    She was nominated alongside Japan’s Haruki Murakami, the UK’s Neil Gaiman and Vietnamese-born Canadian Kim Thuy.

    Conde will win about £87,000 raised from crowdfunding and donations, and will receive the prize at a ceremony on 9 December, one day before the Nobel banquet.

    The Nobel Prize for Literature was suspended after a crisis over its handling of allegations against Frenchman Jean-Claude Arnault, the husband of one of the academy’s members.

    He has been jailed for two years for rape. He has appealed against his conviction, according to Swedish media.

    Several members of the academy, including its head Professor Sara Danius, quit over the scandal in April.

    She said: “Please allow me to share it with my family, my friends and above all with the people of Guadeloupe, who will be thrilled and touched seeing me receive this prize.”

    Her region is “only mentioned when there are hurricanes or earthquakes”, she added.

    Conde has written more than 20 novels, including Desirada and Segu.

    Image copyright Getty Images
    Image caption Neil Gaiman was also nominated for the prize

    The Swedish Academy said her work “describes the ravages of colonialism and post-colonial chaos in a language which is both precise and overwhelming”.

    Murakami withdrew his nomination last month, telling organisers he wanted to focus on work and avoid the spotlight.

    The Swedish Academy has said it will announce the official 2018 winner along with the 2019 winner next year.

    The alternative prize was set up by an organisation calling itself the New Academy, comprising more than 100 Swedish writers, artists and journalists. It will be dissolved in December.

    The four shortlisted writers were among a list of 47 authors nominated by Sweden’s librarians, before voting was opened worldwide.

    View the original article:

    Follow us on Facebook, on Twitter @BBCNewsEnts, or on Instagram at bbcnewsents. If you have a story suggestion email

    In the same category are

    Macron: Brexit visa fears are ‘fake news’ French President Emmanuel Macron has tried to allay fears of new barriers for Britons if there is no EU deal on Brexit, but he did not rule out visas....
    US Grand Prix: Lewis Hamilton is in Formula 1’s top five, says Fernando Alonso Lewis Hamilton and Fernando Alonso were McLaren team-mates in 2007, with both men missing out on the world title by one pointLewis Hamilton is one of...
    Brexit: Five things that happened at the EU Brussels summit Image copyright Reuters Image caption The pressure is on with five months to go until BrexitPrime Minister Theresa May has been in Belgium this week f...
    Kremlin Cup: Britain’s Johanna Konta reaches second semi-final of 2018 Konta started the year ranked ninth in the worldBritish number one Johanna Konta reached just her second WTA semi-final of the year by beating Aliaks...
    Karen Carney: Football Association appalled by rape and death threats on Instagram Karen Carney scored a penalty for Chelsea in the Women's Champions League on Wednesday Warning: Some readers may be offended by the content in this a...
    ‘Mad cow disease’: What is BSE? Image copyright Getty ImagesThe first case of BSE in Scotland in a decade has been confirmed after a cow died. In total, there have been 16 cases in t...