Sexton among eight Ireland changes for second Test

Latest news

    Johnny Sexton came on as a second-half substitute in the first Test
    Second Test: Australia v Ireland
    Date: Saturday, 16 June Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne Kick-off: 11:00 BST
    Coverage: Text commentary and match report on BBC Sport website

    The return of Johnny Sexton at fly-half is one of eight personnel changes to the Ireland team for Saturday’s second Test against Australia in Melbourne.

    Munster wing Andrew Conway and Leinster centre Garry Ringrose come in for a game which Ireland must win to level the series, having lost 18-9 last week.

    Cian Healy, Niall Scannell and Tadhg Furlong form an entirely new front row.

    Devin Toner replaces Iain Henderson in the second row, with Dan Leavy in for Jordi Murphy in the back row.

    Injury concern Keith Earls has completed the return to play protocols and came through training on Thursday after being taken off during the first half of the first Test.

    Earls switches from the right to the left wing to facilitate the inclusion of Munster team-mate Conway.

    Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt will hope that the inclusion of Leavy in the number seven jersey will help his side compete more effectively with the Wallabies at the breakdown.

    Tadhg Beirne is in line to make his debut off the bench at Suncorp Stadium.

    Schmidt opted to rest a number of Leinster players for the opening game of the three-Test series in Brisbane on Saturday following the Irish province’s busy and successful start to the season.

    Joey Carbery occupied the number 10 shirt until Sexton’s introduction midway through the second half.

    Ireland’s defeat brought to an end their 12-game unbeaten run.

    Australia coach Michael Cheika has named an unchanged Australia line-up for the first time in his four-year tenure for the second Test.

    It is the only time Cheika has retained the same match-day squad for back-to-back Tests in his 46 games in charge, after taking the reins in November 2014.

    Australia: I Folau; D Haylett-Petty, S Kerevi, K Beale, M Koroibete; B Foley, W Genia; C Timu, M Hooper (capt), D Pocock; A Coleman, I Rodda; S Kepu, B Paenga-Amosa, S Sio.

    Replacements: T Latu, T Robertson, T Tupou, R Simmons, L Tui, P Samu, N Phipps, R Hodge.

    Ireland: R Kearney; A Conway, G Ringrose, R Henshaw, K Earls; J Sexton, C Murray; C Healy, N Scannell, T Furlong; D Toner, James Ryan; P O’Mahony, D Leavy, CJ Stander.

    View the original article:

    Replacements: R Herring, J McGrath, A Porter, T Beirne, J Murphy, J Cooney, J Carbery, J Larmour.

    In the same category are

    ‘I’m faster, I hit harder, I’m a better boxer & a better fighter’ Frampton on opponent Jackson Frampton took the WBO interim featherweight belt with a points win over former four-weight world champion Nonito Donaire in AprilCarl Frampton says h...
    Quin wins breaststroke gold as GB claim six Para-swimming medals Quin also won gold at the 2016 European Championships in MadeiraWorld Para-swimming European ChampionshipsVenue: Dublin Dates: 13-20 AugustCoverage: ...
    Murray out of Cincinnati Masters in first round Murray won the Cincinnati tournament in 2008 and 2011Britain's Andy Murray suffered a first-round defeat to Lucas Pouille at the Cincinnati Masters.M...
    Liverpool refer Salah to police over driving incident Media playback is unsupported on your device Media captionVideo apparently shows Mo Salah using a phone while drivingLiverpool striker Mohamed Salah...
    ‘Half of Premier League clubs could play in empty stadiums and still make money’ Just two of the Premier League's 20 top-flight clubs recorded a loss in 2017, compared to 18 of the 24 clubs to play in the ChampionshipHalf of Premi...
    Media racism behind Sterling criticism – Wright Raheem Sterling scored the opening goal as Manchester City won 2-0 at Arsenal on SundayCriticism of Manchester City and England winger Raheem Sterlin...

    Leave a comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.