Votes counted in Lewisham East by-election

Latest news

    Heidi AlexanderImage copyright UK Parliament
    Image caption Heidi Alexander has quit Parliament after eight years

    Polls have closed in the Lewisham East by-election, which was triggered by the resignation of Heidi Alexander.

    The Labour MP announced in May she was quitting Parliament to work for Mayor of London Sadiq Khan.

    She was among shadow ministers to resign from the front bench in June 2016, arguing that Labour could not win power under Jeremy Corbyn’s leadership.

    Labour won the south London seat at the 2017 general election with 32,072 votes – a majority of more than 20,000.

    The Conservatives were second with 10,859. The Lib Dems came third with 2,086 while the Greens got 803 and UKIP 798.

    Image copyright Getty Images
    Image caption Sir Vince Cable has been on the campaign trail in Lewisham East

    But the Lib Dems will be hoping to improve their performance in the constituency – Lewisham voted to remain in the EU during the 2016 referendum and Lib Dem leader Sir Vince Cable has been on the campaign trail alongside the party’s candidate, Lucy Salek.

    Heidi Alexander, who became an MP in 2010 and was shadow health secretary between 2015 and 2016, is leaving to become the new deputy mayor for transport.

    She has been a prominent pro-EU voice on the opposition benches and has been co-chair of Labour Campaign for the Single Market.

    Earlier this year she accused Labour of failing to come with a “common and coherent” Brexit position.

    She is the latest Labour MP to leave Parliament for a job outside the Commons.

    Another former shadow health secretary, Andy Burnham, is now the mayor of Greater Manchester, Tristram Hunt became director of the Victoria and Albert Museum and Jamie Reed left for a job in the nuclear industry.

    The full list of candidates in Lewisham East was:

    • Rosamund Adoo-Kissi-Debrah – Green Party
    • Ross Archer – Conservative
    • Charles Carey – no description
    • Janet Daby – Labour
    • Massimo DiMambro – Democrats and Veterans Party
    • Sean Finch – Libertarian Party
    • Patrick Gray – Radical Party
    • Thomas Hall – Young People’s Party
    • Howling Laud Hope – Monster Raving Loony Party
    • David Kurten – UKIP
    • Maureen Martin – Christian Peoples Alliance
    • Mandu Reid – Women’s Equality Party
    • Lucy Salek – Liberal Democrats
    • Anne Marie Waters – For Britain Movement
    View the original article:

    In the same category are

    Brexit: Bid to stop NI civil servants acting on backstop Image copyright AFP Image caption Steve Baker urged the prime minister to change her Brexit plan earlier this monthA former Brexit minister has tabled...
    European Rugby Champions Cup: Saracens 29-10 Lyon OU Itoje recovered from a broken nose against Glasgow to take his place in the Saracens' line-up Heineken Champions Cup Saracens (17) 29 Tries: Itoje, M...
    Huddersfield Town 0-1 Liverpool: Mohamed Salah’s strike earns narrow win Salah had failed to score in his previous four matches for LiverpoolMohamed Salah ended his worst scoring run in a Liverpool shirt to decide a hard-f...
    Man City 5-0 Burnley: Champions go two points clear at top of table Sergio Aguero set Manchester City on their way to victory with his seventh goal in seven games against BurnleyManchester City opened up a two-point l...
    Premier League results: Man City back to the top, Newcastle go bottom Riyad Mahrez scored the goal of the afternoon with a brilliant curling effort against BurnleyDefending champions Manchester City moved two points cle...
    US Mega Millions lottery jackpot hits record $1.6bn Image copyright EPAA record-breaking US lottery jackpot of $1.6bn (£1.2bn) is up for grabs after players failed to pick the winning ticket in a $1bn M...

    Leave a comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.